Regional Club Formation

Planning for...
Regional Bernese Mountain Dog Club Formation

The BMDCA encourages the organization of independent local Bernese Mountain Dog Specialty Clubs where sufficient fanciers of the breed exist to meet AKC requirements.

As centers of Bernese concentration grew across the country, local concentrations led to the establishment of a number of local clubs. Early associations of fanciers include the San Francisco Bay Bemers and the BMDC of Menomonee Valley (today, BMDCSEW). By 1987 the San Francisco Bay Berners, Finger Lakes, Greater Seattle, Nashoba Valley, Southeastern Wisconsin, and Watchung clubs had formed. On the 25th Anniversary of the BMDCA (1993) there were eighteen recognized Regional Clubs. Some earlier established groups had changed name, others divided into two; all provide important activities centered on Bernese Mountain Dogs.

Hikes, seminars, standard study, hosting national specialties, social events for dogs and people, any and all activities related to the well being of the dogs come within the domain of regional clubs.

The BMDC of Nashoba Valley (New England), for example, was the first to follow up on the BMDCA draft regulations, which were originally accepted in 1979. Their draft matches and reformulated regulations guided the way to the first BMDCA draft test, held in 1991 in Massachusetts. This led in turn to having a draft test feature in the 1992 National Specialty in Colorado. The Three Rivers BMDC emphasized the international character of our dogs by initiating European style judging at a fun match. Two regional clubs, Nashoba Valley and Watchung (New Jersey), were preparing to hold their own specialty shows in 1993.

A Regional Club Council coordinates these distinct groups under the umbrella of the BMDCA.

For further reference see:

"Sample Constitution and Bylaws for Local Specialty, Field Trial and Hunting Clubs" by AKC at:

AKC's "How to Form an AKC®-Accredited Dog Club" at:

Barbara Packard and Friend